top of page

1992 NCS Champs Hayward High School

It wasn't supposed to happen. Not in my first year. Not after I heard so much about the teams before me. The previous year, as a freshman, I was on the junior varsity baseball team. But I must have showed something to the varsity coach, because he had faith in me. He let me play third base, even though my arm wasn't a great fit there. He knew if I got it out of my glove quickly enough, it would get there in plenty of time. And he also allowed me to lead the team to battle that year. Of course we had unbelievable guys, but I felt honored at being the opening the action. Our team wasn't filled with name talent top to bottom. But the big three of (we'll call them) Big Bub, CD, and Vic B. They were a force. In there own ways they inspired the team. Vic was vocal, Bub was spiritual, and CD was quietly years ahead of us on the field. Some of us get inspired by just being on the field or court with a local legend. And that's what they were, local legends. From Vic's .432 to Bub's unbelievable strikeout to walk ratio and CD's ability to hit left-handed better than me (even though he normally hit from the right side), all of these men were already known to play the HHS way! So here I am. I knew I could spray the ball around and play a little D. But was I ready to actually PLAY? This was varsity, the next step in the family history. Was I going to fail? The big three were away from he team the day of my first start. Vic and Bub were still in the playoffs for the basketball team. CD had a commitment with an off-season team. I didn't start the first game. But this one, there was no choice. Coach put me in at second. The angle from the second base position will always be etched in my head, especially at my high school. The eucalyptus trees, the steep hill. That's always there, I stared at it too long. I played okay my first start (1-3, 1 run scored, no errors in the field). I was given another chance the next game, even with the big three back. I played well again. I felt a swell of pride as I was asked to hit first. I made it my job to let the rest of the team see all of the pitchers' pitches during my first at bat. I hope it helped. But the fact that the big three hit two, three, and four, made me feel like a part of it, and then there was Lupe. Him and I played on junior varsity along with Adam and we all had similar feelings I guess. At first we were just happy to be there, and then a major part of why we won. As the season wore on, the team's spirits stayed high. Coach B was constantly throwing BP. I thought his arm was going to fall off. But it was all about consistency. Lupe and Bub were absolutely dazzling on the mound. There were a couple of close games, but it just seemed like destiny for us to win it. As we approached the playoffs, the heart of the team started to really beat out loud. J.K., who is known by everybody in this entire nation, showed me how to lead with hustle alone. The effort put out by that man was inspirational, and I appreciated the way he went about his business. Great man as well. The seniors, who were close to victory in years past, knew we needed to get through a tough road to win it all. I really tried to soak it all up. I played with a lot of very good players in my career. Even played on teams with more overall talent than this championship team. But the resolve that was displayed. The commitment by the guys that wanted to work and put in that extra time. Those that pushed the guy next to him to keep getting better. That is where the hearts of champions are born. And why so much success has followed. We got to play against J Kidd, and a great pitcher by the name of Shorty. I knew by this time I was going be facing some premier talent. Especially on the mound. And I was right. All of these guys had plus fastballs, and I hadn't faced anything like that before. This is where my size came in to play. I had a strike zone the size of a peanut, and I knew exactly where it was. And when you find out what your strike zone is, you have half the battle already won. (Just don't swing at anything outside of that zone) To put it lightly, I walked a few times. The NCS Finals pitted us against a team that seemed to have 50 players on their squad. I was hyper-focused on the pitcher as he warmed up. I knew that if I could get on base to lead off the game, it would bring some confidence to the rest of the guys. I singled to open the game. It was a struggle between two of the best teams in California. Bub got hit in the helmet to load the bases in the decisive inning. I was on second after a walk, and Mikey was at third. CD, whom we all knew was destined to play professionally, came to the plate. Bases loaded, less than two outs, CD up, it was destiny. Except he hit a pop up to first base. Coach B whispered loudly to Mikey to tag up. Once he saw the first baseman turn his back, he told Mikey to go! The play at the plate wasn't as close as you'd expect. CD got a sac fly on a pop up to first to take the lead 5-4. That was the final score. We won with class after being taught good sportsmanship from our leaders. The entire season was as memorable as it gets. And as I sit here, reminiscing about what we did as a team, I can truly say that there was no "i" in TEAM on that squad. The last month of the season felt magical, and Coach B was our Dumbledore. Thank you to all of the players on the 1992 Hayward baseball team. NCS Baby!! Oh, and I made song about it, like to hear it, hear it go!! NCS Baby - The G.O.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • YouTube Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean

FOLLOW US HERE: 

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Yelp Social Icon

© 2016 by On The GO Baseball. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page